Just another Tuesday

If this were a podcast, I would be recording Episode 0, in which I tell everyone about me and what to expect from my blog. I think I shall do the same thing here.

My name is Karen. I am forty-four years old, twice divorced, engaged to a wonderful man named Wayne. We live in a sweet little house in Maryland with our spoiled cat, Noel. Between us, we have seven children, and it seems that one of them is always staying with us. Currently it is my daughter K. Wayne’s youngest, who lives with her mom, is on a visitation cycle so we see her pretty often, too. The rest come and go as adult children tend to do.

I work in the IT department at a local University. So does Wayne. But we work at different schools, which makes things more interesting. I am a Windows Systems Administrator, which basically means I am a generalist who does stuff on Windows servers. I dabble in Windows, MS SQL, Exchange, IIS, and a slew of applications that allow me to administer the Windows servers and that allow the University to function.

I have a plateful of hobbies. I read copiously. I write, not well but with great joy. I knit, crochet, sew, cross stitch, and embroider. I’ve dabbled in jewelry and lace making, refinishing furniture, gardening. I love to bake but am always dieting, or watching what I eat if you will, so baking has become an exercise in making things that taste like chocolate healthier.

When it comes to this blog, I plan to talk about my crazy fun life. I would like to share some of my writing, occasionally rant about things like poor customer service and welfare fraud (two of my biggest pet peeves), talk about interesting and cool tech stuff that is probably only interesting and cool to nerds, and occasionally discuss crafting. I suspect the most common theme will be life. Because it’s awesome.

Today, I:

  • Worked out
  • Updated tickets
  • Wrote documentation
  • Forgot about my to-do list
  • Cast on Multnomah
  • Did two rows on the blanket I am making for Baby Emily
  • Went to three doctor’s appointments
  • Ate pork and asparagus that Wayne cooked
  • Counted calories
  • Drank wine

Before I go to sleep, I will:

  • Pack tomorrow’s lunch
  • Read at least a chapter of my current book (The Book Thief)
  • Brush my teeth with prescription strength toothpaste (I have braces)
  • Snuggle with Wayne
  • Pray, which happens a lot more often than I let on

I’m happy to be blogging again. We shall see how it goes from here.

Leave a Reply

