Long rides and fro-yo

The first time I ever experienced the joy that is frozen yogurt was the one and only semester I was actually away at college. I grew up in a small town that didn’t have a whole lot of draw for tourists, so we tended to be a bit behind on things. Like, no New York style bagels (I thought all bagels were like the ones you get in the freezer section, next to the frozen waffles), no 31 flavors, basically only McDonald’s and convenience stores. College was in a typical college town, the sort where all of the yummy things that the rest of the world knows about can be had. My Jewish roommate introduced me to the glory that is a day-old bagel with a smear of cream cheese and lox (day-old bagels were half price). She laughed at my wide-eyed, sheep in the big city wonderment of things like a soft-serve machine that they let you work yourself and a real deli where you can choose your bread, not just what goes inside.

Many of the things I first encountered when I was seventeen and Jen with her Philly accent, was showing me the world have stayed special to me. Most of them have a tinge of nostalgia, a light of “remember when” shining on them. And since almost all were food, and much of it bad for me, I don’t have any of it regularly so it’s all still a treat.

I count calories. I really count them. I don’t estimate unless I cannot do otherwise, and when I do estimate I go high. You can come really close to the real count these days, thanks to things like apps that scan barcodes and return nutrition information and the glory that is Google. I also exercise regularly and enthusiastically and measure calories put out. I have a daily calorie goal of 1350 base, without exercise. And I aim to eat half of what I exercise away. It doesn’t always work out, some days I am over and some under, but I’m averaging well over the course of about a week. I am trying to lose weight and I am also trying to work on some annoying middle age issues (aching feet, popping and sore knees) that are exacerbated by being overweight.

If I was reading this I would totally be saying enough backstory already, get to the point.

The point is, we’ve decided were going to do a metric century. We may not be able to do it this year, but we are still going to aim for that as a goal at the end of the bike riding season. With that goal in mind, we’ve been doing longer and longer rides. First we rode a seven mile loop until it became easy and then we added a three mile loop to it. We talked about mapping out fifteen but then just said oh to heck with it, let’s go straight for twenty.

So we did it. Twenty miles on hybrid bikes in street clothes (my bicycling shoes are Tiffany blue Chucks). It took us about an hour and a half and I burned over 1200 calories. Almost my entire caloric intake for the day. That gave me, from the ride alone and not counting my morning workout, 600 calories to blow. Treat time! I headed to my new favorite place, Tutti Frutti. One and a half cups of yogurt, strawberries, those yummy little balls of yum, and granola. And of course, the feeling of decadence that comes from eating something that has no real nutritional value, that is nothing but treat. I love that feeling once in a while. I love even more knowing that I earned it.

But you know what the best part is? Taking a few minutes to remember Jen, who I haven’t seen or spoken to since 1987. I can still see her cloud of hair and her smile in my memory. Hiya, Jen!

Since my last post I:

  • Wrote two chapters in the current book
  • Started editing (!)
  • Found a new morning workout
  • Went on my summer schedule
  • Finished Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake. Read The Reader and Gone, Girl.
  • Watched Wayne construct a table in the laundry room
  • Lost more weight
  • Did a ton of database-ish stuff

Before I post again I hope to:

  • Remind myself that it doesn’t have to be on my Kindle to be read
  • Take my engagement ring in to get it re-sized
  • Buy some new sports bras, and maybe pick up some socks too
  • Get back into the habit of daily yoga
  • Iron out a real, workable morning routine for the summer (I go to work at 6 AM)
  • Help my daughter settle in at her new place and remember that she’s an adult, so this move is a good thing
  • Write at least one chapter
  • Get in a few hours of editing
  • Do the new 20 (ish) mile ride again
Leave a Reply

