The more things stay the same, the more they change

Today, I am struggling to change my name at work. The good thing about being a systems administrator is that I can do my own name change for my login, email, etc. The bad thing about being a systems administrator is that no one else will do my name change for me. I all but begged my coworkers to do it for me as a wedding present. I would say their response was to scoff, but they didn’t scoff. They laughed. Like I was making some great, big joke.

No joke guys. Seriously.

At the same time, I am trying to change my name everywhere else. I wasn’t nearly this connected the last time I had a name change and the list is almost overwhelming. Facebook, Google, iTunes, Amazon, eBay… and then the two hundred other sites I think of as non-official. Social Security, MVA (that’s happening on Monday), HR, insurance, banks… all of the “official” stuff. I wish I had taken the whole week off and sent Wayne back to work today so I would be free to work on name changes.

I sound like I am complaining, don’t I? I’m not. I don’t mind changing my name. It is a beautiful thing to be the Mrs. to his Mr. I love being married to my soulmate, my dream guy, my best friend. He said if it took marrying me to make me feel comfortable he was doing something wrong. But I wasn’t uncomfortable. I was happy being his girlfriend, and then his fiancee. But I wanted to be his wife. I wanted to be his other half.

I told him he’s caught now. He said he was caught long, long ago.

Since my last post I:

  • Got married
  • Went on a mini-honeymoon
  • Saw my oldest and dearest friends
  • Ate WAY too much food
  • Encouraged over-tipping
  • Did very little reading
  • Tinked Multnomah back to the beginning of the lace (I KNOW!)

Before I post again, I hope to:

  • Be closer to having my name all the way changed
  • Do a go live
  • Read and knit
  • Get into the groove of being Wayne’s wife
Leave a Reply

