And the book love continues

It’s time for another stunning and fabulous update on my insane amounts of reading! Aren’t you excited? I know you are.

A book with nonhuman characters

Until Tuesday by Luis Carlos Montalvan

This is the story of the author and his awesome service dog, Tuesday. You can pick which is the nonhuman. 🙂

Capt Monlalvan is a veteran of the Iraq war. He served two tours. He was injured in the line of duty and was awarded the Purple Heart. His injuries eventually led him to muster out. He then spent a couple years being entirely miserable until he was lucky enough to get matched up with Tuesday. Tuesday offers him a safe place to be when the world around him pecks at his PTSD, a steady back when his brain injuries cause him to get dizzy, a slobbery mouth for shoe-fetching because it’s wicked hard to pick up shoes with a back injury.

I learned a great deal about one man’s point of view of the war, told by a man who is a journalist, a public speaker, and an advocate for disabled vets. The story is interesting, but… in a couple places, Montalvan talks about folks who speak against him. After I finished the book, I did a little Googling and discovered that there are men who served with him who doubt that his injuries were quite as bad as he makes out. One voiced surprise that he won the Purple Heart. My opinion? Even if he is exaggerating his injuries, it’s still a great story. He loves that dog, and following along as they get to know each other was totally worth it.

A book with antonyms in the title

Five Days at Memorial: Life and Death in a Storm Ravaged Hospital by Sheri Fink

You’d think it’s non-fiction week or something! It’s not. Well, not entirely.

So this book. I heard about it on 2 Knit Lit Chicks and it made its way onto my “to read” list because it sounded interesting. And oh yes, it was very interesting.

The author tells the story of what happened at Memorial Medical Center, a mid-sized hospital in New Orleans, during and immediately after Hurricane Katrina. She won the Pulitzer for investigative journalism for this book and yes, it was well-deserved, and then some. No stone was left unturned. No story was left untold. Nothing about the story was beaten to death – rather, it was told without a whole lot of drama on Ms. Fink’s part, but read with a ton on mine. This was one of those books that required me to stop and read things aloud to Wayne, normally followed by a “can you believe that???” or preceded by an “Oh my GOD listen to this” or both.

The nuts and bolts of the story are here in much less detail, but it’s true to Fink’s story. I would recommend reading the book, though, and not just the article. Some of the things that happened made me want to build a time machine, go back in time, and punch some doctors and nurses in the throat. And I’m non-violent. They killed people. Seriously. Killed them. I want to tell you more, but y’all should really read the book and find out for yourselves. It’s a terrifically written saga of some terrifically horrid crap.

A book you can finish in a day

Rising Tides and Inner Harbor by Nora Roberts

Make that two books I read in a day. Yes, two. In one day (I did some other reading, too – it was a snow day after all). I am on a Nora Roberts diet now, I swear. That was a good seven to eight hours that should have been spent on Lonesome Dove. But anyway!

These are books 2 and 3 of the Chesapeake Bay Saga (I read Book 1 last week to fit the “book set in your hometown”). They were sweet little stories, except:

  • Every character is beautiful and lovely and handsome and intelligent except the kid’s crack whore mom
  • Every single person knows how to sail (with one exception… see the next bullet)
  • The only person who can’t sail is oddly and totally unbelievable. She’s some sort of virginal egghead who wears satin undies and thigh-highs? Sorry – no.
  • And my biggest niggling UGH: the fictional town of St. Chris is on the eastern shore of the Chesapeake and the streets in town run westward from the water. Map that out and I’m quite sure you’ll agree with me that the townspeople are merfolk. There’s no other way it could happen.

The only other complaint I have is that since I’ve read six Nora Roberts books in the recent past, my Kindle keeps giving me screen-saver ads for other romance novels. Amazon now thinks I have sponge-brain. Ugh.

Currently Reading

  • Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry (initial reaction – slow but good and the 1980’s-era mini-series was dead on)
  • 11/22/63 by Stephen King (initial reaction OH MY GOD THIS IS A GOOD BOOK, and the librarian told me there’s a mini-series in the works for this one so yes!)

On Deck

  • Follow the Rabbit Proof Fence by Doris Pilkington
  • Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman
  • The Awakening by Kate Chopin
Leave a Reply

